Skip Navigation


Pastoral Council

The Pastoral Council recommends parish policy to the Pastor, fosters good
communication, and provides leadership by clarifying parish vision, establishing goals
and witnessing the gospel message in the larger community and the world.

The Council is composed of up to 15 members, 9 elected at large from and by the
membership of the Parish. Additional members may be appointed by the Pastor based
upon the needs of the Council and Parish. Anyone currently employed by the parish or
the school is ineligible.

We welcome your support and interest. To view council minutes, please contact Lisa Haas. To view the by-laws, please click here.


Parish Commissions

Each commission is a subgroup of the Pastoral Council and is focused on the guidance
and development of specific ministries of our parish including:

FAITH FORMATION: Helps organize programs for life-long Catholic faith formation
which includes Adult Enrichment, Religious Education and Youth Ministry.
Staff contacts: Cheryl Horne (AE), Kay Schachte (RE Gr 1-6) Noah Gonring (YM)

EDUCATION: Devises and implements policies of Our Lady Queen of Peace School, in
conjunction with Diocesan and Department of Public Instruction policies and under the
guidance of the Pastor and Pastoral Council. Staff Contact: Mary Jo Vitale, School Principal

LITURGY: Plans, advises, and supports the liturgical life of the parish, including music,
art and environment. Staff Contact: Caleb Mitchell, Dir. of Liturgy & Pastoral Music

PASTORAL CARE: Identifies and meets physical, social, emotional, and spiritual
needs of parishioners through service and outreach. Staff Contacts: Crystal Nemeth, Parish Nurse and Cheryl Horne, Pastoral Associate

SOCIAL ACTION & COMMUNITY ENRICHMENT: Responsible for identifying and
informing the parish of social needs in the Madison community and beyond, seeking solutions to these needs in cooperation with other faith communities and activating parishioners' volunteer efforts. Also encourages social enhancement of our faith community through planned activities for members. Staff Contact: Cheryl Horne, Pastoral Associate

If you're interested in learning more or joining one of our commissions, please contact Lisa Haas.


Finance Council

Our finance council reviews, evaluates, and approves the parish budget, property improvements, fundraising, and financial policy. Each member serves on a parish committee, as a liaison including:

  • Buildings & Grounds: Responsible for parish facility needs planning, and current facility maintenance.
  • Campus Information Technology: Responsible for a long-term technology plan to address campus-wide infrastructure improvements to benefit parish and school. Develops integration into school curriculum.
  • Development: Responsible for parish communication, fundraising efforts and helping parishioners learn more about our parish.
  • School Endowment: Responsible for monitoring endowment investments and disbursements and generates increased fund contributions.

If you're interested in learning more or joining one of these committees, please contact Lisa Haas.


Pastoral Council

Laura Anderson

Michael Betlach

Victor Escalona

Charles James

Liz Lacey

Ann Martinelli 

Kathy Perepezko 

CJ Raymond

Deb Schroeder

Theresa Wiese